Skip to main content


Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeThesis Prizes


Thesis Prizes

The AAS Thesis Prizes are awarded to the best Honours/Masters thesis and PhD thesis in anthropology submitted to an Australian university. We welcome one nomination in each category from the Director of Programs, Head of Schools, or Deans in each university. Nominations must be made to institutional representatives. We do not accept self-nominations. 

Nominations will open in August 2024. 

Nominations must include: 

A brief letter of nomination, including the student’s full name and title of their thesis.
A digital copy of the thesis. 
Examiner’s reports. 
In the case that the student has not yet been awarded their degree, the letter must state that the candidate has completed all obligations, including addressing external examiners' revisions and submitting final revisions.
Jury: Nominated theses will be judged by a panel of three independent AAS Fellows 

Theoretical sophistication
Ethnographic depth
Lucid writing
The winners are formally announced at the Annual General Meeting and the prizes awarded at the Annual Conference dinner. Winners receive a written certificate, a monetary prize (AUD1,000 for the PhD prize; AUD500 for the Honours prize), as well as registration and a dinner ticket for that year’s conference.


Prize Recipients

Accordion Widget
Best PhD Thesis Prize Winners
Best PhD Thesis Prize Winners

2023 Dr. Patrick Horton (The University of Sydney)

2022 Dr. Stefanie Puszka (The Australian National University)

2021 Dr. Alana Brekelmans (The University of Queensland)

2020 Dr. Sana Ashraf (The Australian National University)

2019 Dr. Sophie Chao (Macquarie University)

2018 Dr. Benjamin Hegarty (The Australian National University)

2017 Dr. Siobhan McDonnell (The Australian National University)

2016 Dr. Karen Turner (The University of Melbourne)

2015 Dr. Roger Casas Ruiz  (The Australian National University)

2014 Dr. Bryonny Goodwin-Hawkins  (The University of Melbourne)

2013 Dr. Prasert Rangkla (The Australian National University)

2012 Dr. John Cox (The University of Melbourne) / Dr. Thiago Oppermann (The University of Sydney)

2011 Dr. Julienne Corboz (The University of Melbourne)

2010 Dr. Hannah Bulloch (The Australian National University)

2009 Dr. Michaela Evans (The University of Western Australia)

2008 Dr. Nicholas Herriman (The University of Western Australia)

2007 Dr. Inge Kral (The Australian National University – CAEPR)

2006 Dr. Wasan Panyagaew (The Australian National University)

2005  Dr. Sally Babidge (James Cook University)

2004 Dr. John Patrick Taylor (The Australian National University)

Accordion Widget
Best Honours or Masters Thesis Prize Winners
Best Honours or Masters Thesis Prize Winners

2023 Jerome Arrow (The Australian National University)

2022 Ben Dean (Macquarie University)

2021 Dylan Strahan (The University of Melbourne)

2020 Deua Stojanovska (La Trobe University)

2019 Daniel Alexander Tranter (Macquarie University)

2018 Linda Ma (The Australian National University) / Susannah Ostojic (La Trobe University)

2017 Sam Williams (Monash University)

2016 Lachlan Summers (The University of Queensland)

2015 Hamish McKenzie (University of Melbourne)

2014 Tahnee Innes  (James Cook University)

2013 Simon Burns (The University of Melbourne)

2012 Constance Warren (Deakin University)

2011 Paul Keil (Macquarie University)

2010 Emma Scott (The University of Sydney)

2009 Gillian Vita Lorelle Bowan (The University of Sydney)

2008 Kylie Tobler (The University of Sydney)

2007 Benjamin Worthley (Macquarie University)

2006 Shivani Ganesan Raju (Macquarie University)

2005 Phillippa Barr (Macquarie University)

2004 Noah PLeshet (The University of Sydney)